A change

Quick recap of today’s events:

20140415-174542.jpg

If you were in this situation, all alone in the middle of a landscape like this, with just a truck for shelter, what is the first thing you would build? Is this the bones of …

A) a private loo
B) a private stand-up changing room
C) an interstellar transporter
D) … a hot shower!

So today I got the coldest and windiest shower ever, but the one with the best view ever!

I’m thinking a little deck surround … a little bench … and planning my showers for the calm part of the day.

I pushed to get this built partly for cleanliness but partly in order to mount the pipe bender onto it, so I can start the hoophouse. I have about 40 seedlings living in the front seat of the truck now, and I’m sure they’ll be a lot happier in their own home.

20140415-175527.jpg

20140415-175551.jpg

Here’s mister horny toad! I begged him to stay till I could get a picture … while my phone booted up we chatted a bit and then he started to move – but he moved toward me! Such an honor. He seems as curious about me as I am about him. So here is a portrait of my handsome neighbor, perhaps considering the wisdom of climbing aboard my palm.

20140415-175852.jpg

I’m quite tired from all the tromping back and forth from the truck to the shower site on the other side of the property. Tomorrow might be a rest-in-the-truck day.

But there’s something else that needs attention … I feel changed today, better able to focus on what’s most important and feel more sincerely into some things that I have been skimming over. My mediumship is not very developed, but I felt that a spirit who’d been sort of along for the ride in my life, left this morning. I feel quieter and more solemn now … possibly she was with me because we both were lonely and wanted to avoid a lot.

Yesterday I had been thinking, is the desire for independence an injury? I don’t feel so – I feel God made us to be independent beings, that’s what we’re here on earth to learn to be, partly. Independent and loving. When I left Reevis someone told me that I was choosing a selfish, lonely life. I just don’t feel so … I feel independence is a virtue and can’t be overdone, and it is a prerequisite for lovingness, not an obstacle to it. I mean real independence and self-actualization, not withdrawnness or, obviously, superiority.

So, whichever way the cause and effect worked (do I feel more sincere because Casey left, or did she leave because I became more sincere?), now I feel more apt and able to be quiet in myself and look into things. Which is what I might spend the rest of this evening, and tomorrow, doing.

3 thoughts on “A change

  1. Feels to me like you’re on the right track, For Sure, Ms. Gaining Independence. Can’t help but wonder — who’s Casey? (I’m happy to wonder, btw, indefinitely… :- ),

    • Oh, I meant that spirit, I think her name is Casey. Names are hard, though.

      Thank you! I feel like I’m on a good track, too. Lots churning this morning.

Leave a Reply

